Gold’s Gym Corporate Office

Gold's Gym Corporate Office Address

Gold's Gym International, Inc.
125 E John Carpenter FWY Suite 1300
Irving, TX 75062

Contact Gold's Gym

Phone Number: (214) 574-4653
Fax Number: (703) 645-8812
Website: http://www.goldsgym.com
Email: Email Gold's Gym

Executives

CEO: Jim Snow
CFO: Aaron Watkins
COO: Todd Scartozzi

Gold's Gym History

Gold’s Gym is a wholly owned subsidiary of TRT Holdings.

Gold’s Gym was founded in 1965 by Joe Gold in Venice Beach, California.

In 1970, Gold sold the gym for $50,000.

In 1977, the gym is sold to bodybuilder Ken Sprague.  The movie Pumping Iron featuring Arnold Schwarzenegger is released, providing huge publicity for the gym.

In 1979, the gym is purchased by Pete Mrymkowski, Tim Kimber and Ed Connors.

In 1980, the first franchise opens in San Francisco.

By 1988, there were 270 Gold Gym locations worldwide.

In 1999, the company is purchased by franchisees Kirk and John Galiani.

In 2004, the company is purchased by TRT Holdings, who still own the chain today.

Today, there are over 700 gyms in 42 US states and 30 countries worldwide.

 

 

{ 141 comments… read them below or add one }

Ferdie April 7, 2015 at 8:06 pm

Hello,

I have a complaint about gold’s gym. Is anyone here who sent their complaints ever got a response from Gold’s Gym? I want to know how my issue will be resolved. Someone signed me up on a 2 year contract without showing me a contract. I only signed on a touchpad and Robert Joy (General Manager at that location at that time) since quit. Please help,

Thank you!
Ferdie

Reply

unhappy April 6, 2015 at 12:07 pm

The Golds Gym in Germantown MD had a training director that gives out/sells steroids to gym members. He no longer works as the training director but he still works out there. This man needs to be put in jail for offering steroids to members. He was the training director in 2014. His initials are JCT. He is bad news and has no business in a gym. This needs to be known by the corporate office because he is clearly doing something illegal. I hope that someone from the corporate office looks into this and investigates further.

Reply

Daniel Clay April 3, 2015 at 4:58 pm

To whom it may concern,

Honestly, I enjoyed using golds gym in hollywood. I paid $125.00 per month for 12 months for the family plan without missing a payment. I then moved to Henderson, NV and thats when the crap storm started. I went in for a membership and was offered personal training. At the time, my work schedule was intense, 20 hour days, so i declined. The sales person then gets up and says “let me talk to my manager”. He comes back and said he has never seen the manager drop the price so low. He dropped the monthly cost of $350/mo to $250/mo. I then told him, ” As good as it sounds, I just can’t commit right now because my schedule is not set”. He gets up again and returns with his manager. His manager says he wants to work with me and offers me a “month to month” deal for a membership and personal trainer. I accepted the offer as there was no long term commitment involved. A week later, I schedule my first session. Unfortunately, I ended up getting called in to work so i had to reschedule. 2 days later, I had the same issue. It obviously wasnt working out so i decided to cancel. I was told that I couldnt just cancel and that there would have to be some extraordinary circumstances that would terminate the “contract”. So i called corporate and asked for a copy of this “contract”. I called the gym and corporate multiple times and have yet to receive anything. A month later, i moved to lancaster, CA… where there is no Golds GYM within 30 miles, which qualifies as the termination of contract. They said they never received it and charged me $4,400.00 for a personal trainer that ive never even met.

When it comes to building great gyms, Golds is great. When it comes to ETHICS, i am heavily disappointed. I have been saving up for a really good lawyer since the day this started and have all the evidence necessary. This has caused huge amounts of drama in my life and has literally removed food from my family’s table. Strange that a billion dollar corporation has to scrape money from low and middle class law abiding citizens. Justice will be served and i plan on going public with this and the preceding disgusting complaints.
Contact me via email for any questions or concerns you may have.

Reply

Yolanda March 27, 2015 at 12:00 pm

Your corporate office is a complete JOKE! No one there responds to phone calls, you guys ONLY “respond to emails” but yet, you don’t actually respond. You ignore it because you are a bunch of lazy, GREEDY, pieces of shit!

I am so glad I don’t work for your horrible company. You never pay people what they are worth anyway, and you charge too much for a membership that has a gym with broken equipment that never gets serviced.

Way to go, Gold’s Gym! I’d rather workout at Planet Fitness!

Reply

Anahit Nazaryan March 23, 2015 at 6:23 am

Dear Sir/Madam,
My name is Anahit Nazaryan, and I am an athlete, crossfitter and Olympic weightlifter, a certified master personal trainer , a Lawyer , and a proud Golds Gym member since 2013. In particular, I enjoy weightlifting at your gym since it has all the facilities including the Olympic platform. I write to you as I would really appreciate your help in addressing an unfortunate incident at one of your gyms.

On Sunday 22 March, I was training at Golds Gym, Etihad Mall, Dubai, UAE. I was interrupted during my weightlifting session to be told by one of the staff members, not to drop the weights on the platform as it was too noisy and that the mall management had made an issue about this noise. I politely explained the procedure of weightlifting and that dropping while snatching or clean and jerking the weight is important to reduce the risk of injuries. Another member also intervened with the same comment and stated that the noise is something that is to be taken up between the gym’s management and the mall’s management and not the members. Several minutes later, another staff member rushed to me and aggressively told me “do not drop the weights” with a rather rude tone of voice as well as body language, where it caught the attention of all other members. She continued doing so, without allowing me to even speak. I asked her not to speak to me like that and that I had wanted to speak to the gym’s manager. After having explained the situation to the gym manager, what was even more unfortunate is that he was not able to get his staff member to apologize for her unacceptable behaviour, nor was he able to control the situation. The other staff member had disappeared and I later learned that she was a sales manager who knew nothing about the sport. However, one thing is clear is that the gym managed to embarrass me in front of other members, not for any mistake from my end, rather their lack of knowledge, professionalism and experience.

This incident has now forced me to reconsider Golds Gym as a state-of-the-art gym, where athletes and weightlifters can train to find their true strength. I hope this email results in the right actions as I do not plan stepping back into the gym, unless I am sure that the matter is taken care off and my respect is re-instated. I demand my compensations

Thank you very much.

Regards

Reply

Jay March 16, 2015 at 5:10 pm

To CEO Jim Snow
I am upset with the handling of my membership.
!st I wasn’t asked if I was a veteran. No big deal no a lot of us are veterans. The problem they told me was I had to ask for that before I signed the contract. I signed a contract and we can’t do anything about it.
I saw an advertisement after I signed up for no initiation fee at golds and was told the same thing. You signed a contract.
When I signed the contract they told me the only options was for 1 year or 2 year membership. No other options.

2nd The contract I signed was never presented to me. I signed a computer pad. I wasn’t shown a contract I was shown a computer signing pad.

3rd I still do not have a copy of the contract I signed. The original person that I signed up with said I will send you an e-mail with the contract. No e- mail. I talked to a supervisor I will send a copy e-mail no copy. I called the 800 number for golds I still do not have a copy of the contract. (FYI) The next day I called the Fenton Mo. location where I signed the original contract for 2 days to talk to a supervisor and left messages. I am still waiting for call back. They were with a customer or busy for 2 days solid.

4th I was at fenton that if I give golds permission to charge to my credit card it will be 4$ a month cheaper. Did not happen.

5th I was never asked if I had insurance that would cover the membership. I now have silver sneakers and the golds on Manchester switched me over. The end result is it cost me 144$ to go to the gym for less than 2 months.

The 800 number gave me a false e-mail to send a comment to. Thanks

With all this said. I am pleased with the facility but the customer service is the worst I have ever encountered.

Reply

Chris February 22, 2015 at 11:44 am

Gold’s gym Birmingham opens late on Sundays on a regular basis. The competition already has better weekend hours.

Reply

Alexander Banks February 9, 2015 at 4:31 pm

To the CEO Jim Snow I was called in to try a 7 day free trail . I went in on the 31 of January . I talked to one of your golds associate about this free trail . I was then told that you had a promo going that would gave me a free month and all I had to pay was the last month at no point did he tell me about a year contract or after three day I would be stuck in a contract . I was not gaving a copy of the contract yet and still I ended asking to cancel the account Wednesday the 4th of February. Tried calling your customer service and was routed to a call center for a hotel and when I tell him I was looking for golds gym he said yes they are in here it’s a call center now the transfer never went thru and I had to call back and just sat on the phone until I started getting the we closed call between business I tried finding the cancel button on goldsgym.com and found none . I waiting til the next day and want into golds gym and talked to your associate that signed me up and he said I would be good on cancelling with a card that he gave me. I even ask will I be about to get my money back and the answer was yes you will have no problems. After I go to this website it’s telling me that I’m in Obligation for a year membership I was not told about I was talked too about a month to month . Now to find out later this is wrong I was never presented with a paper copy just a viable agreement . The gym do not fit me and was trick into you membership with no paper work telling me I’m signing a e signature for my card being on file. And now changing to a year contract that is fraud … The bar code on my key card is G0814476890 . I have tried talking to you call center and now I’m gaving your HQ a chance to correct the problem or I would have to take legal action as this a clear case of bait switch as a lawyer told me earlier today . I do not want any problem so I hope this is taking care of soon . Alexander j Banks 2026812753 thank you and I hope you get back to me soon

Reply

gary` February 4, 2015 at 12:48 pm

Just received a letter telling me my membership dues will increase which is 50% increase! WoW! The letter indicates you should contact your club manger. I did that. She hid behind “that was a corporate decision, there is nothing I can do.” I asked what changes or improvements I might see for this %50 percent increase– Got a blank stare! She even denied it was a %50 increase, said probably 2 or 3 dollars but not %50 percent. I then showed her the letter which is %50 percent higher that I have been paying for the past year plus.
Notice the corporate office does NOT even have an email address available on the corporate site. What a rip off!
Just this week I brought 2 prospective members (friends) into the gym for a tour. The next day I received the letter, which I also shared with my friends. I’m thru recommending Golds to anyone. They treat the current members like dirt.
Beware of Golds memberships! Take your business elsewhere.

Reply

todd cadle January 26, 2015 at 3:51 pm

I have a medical condition that will keep me from exercising I cant breath correctly and have an eating problem. I am under the care of a VA doctor. My doctor wrote a note saying I needed to stop my membership for medical reasons. The manager said thats not enought
they need to be specific that I cant use any of the equipment at the gym. He never asked if
I was going to be ok he just wanted my money. Told me you need to give a months notice to put membership on hold and they extend you time when you get back. I said I already canceled the auto withdrawal so dont expect any money. I would never go back they just want money not the health of their clients

Reply

Dianne Burns January 30, 2015 at 12:19 pm

Todd, I feel your pain. My husband and I signed up in October thinking that I would be able to go 12 times a month (not hard to do) and I’d be eligible for a “refund” from my health care insurance for participating. Gold’s Gym was a lot more $$ than our previous gym, but it seemed cleaner and they had a pool that I thought we would use, but my husband reiterated multiple times he wanted a month-to-month status…well, I injured my knee and haven’t been able to work up and cancelled the membership, only to find out that while my husband IS/WAS month-to-month, the sales person signed me up for a year’s contract. We were misled and I will never recommend Gold’s Gym to anybody. I had my doctor write a letter to the effect that I may have to have knee surgery and he recommended no exercise, but haven’t heard anything from the gym. The sales people will hound you with phone calls after you have called to inquire, but won’t return a call when you have a problem. Yep, it’s ALL ABOUT THE MONEY!

Reply

atul kadiwar January 22, 2015 at 9:32 am

I need the contact information of the person who handles real estate. I have a site in Griffin Ga. on US 19/41. I want to sent the information to them

Atul kadiwar
770-719-****

Reply

r. perez January 21, 2015 at 5:15 pm

Mr. Snow..you need new managers at the location at Thousand Oaks near perm Beitel in San Antonio Texas

Reply

marguerite Chigirovich January 19, 2015 at 12:40 pm

I have been a member for about 2 years now I have signed up for a personal trainer which I am paying for. I belong to the gym in Kinston NC. For the past month and a half there has not been someone there to do this service. They have now hired someone and I keep getting told that this person will be calling me to set up a time for this service. I am a senior cititizen and the money that has been taken out of my checking account is adding up. I only come to the gym during the day. I feel that they have been giving a round around and don’t thick it it far to have this kind of treatment. This gym has been going down hill for the past 5 months or so. They have done away with all the other activities they used to offer because they can’t seem to keep there personal who would teach these classes.
Hopefully this problem gets fixed soon.

Thank You,
Marguerite Chigirovich

Reply

tom January 7, 2015 at 1:46 pm

Had a problem with the gym in town was treated bad very bad on phone by person ask for mangers to call never got one then got a call 3 months later told i was called an told i was lying they called me called cor. For help nothing sent paynent to make sure closed after trying to talk to someone at cor. Getting same dis. Treatment when asked to speak to a supervisor can you explain this from your stand point again trying to contact someone other then a dis. Person i guess ther is not one at golds

Reply

Deborah Groff December 28, 2014 at 3:20 pm

I have been a member of golds gym since 2004. I currently am at the one at Live Oak in San Antonio. I have never been to a gym where the staff do not care enough to enfore the rules than at this gym! They alow members to SLAM weights down, disrupting everyone. Dropping weights is not only against the rules, which are posted, but it is inconsiderate and disruptive. I am considering going to another gym (Planet Fitness) because the staff just does not care. I would not recommend Gold’s Gym to anyone!

Reply

Sandra December 21, 2014 at 9:44 am

I have been a member of Golds, formerly Spectrum in San Antonio since 1992. The clubs have been “sold” before but the high level of cleanliness and quality was always maintained UNTIL GOLDS bought the clubs. FUN Classes like ZUMBA and Cardio groove are being replaced with the ridiculous Les Miles weight lifting classes. Very disappointing especially since my school district has a group membership for employees! I will be suggesting our district find another gym to workout at!

GOLDS – you need to reinvest in your properties AND listen to your customers! How long do you think the not caring attitude will continue to work for you?

Reply

Lesley Spellacy December 16, 2014 at 7:14 am

I attend Gold’s Gym in Jeddah Saudi Arabia and am not impressed by the level of service, staff and management.
1. The equipment is in need of maintenance. I informed them of this when I signed up in August after a 2 year absence. It still hasn’t been addressed.
2. The spinning instructors are often late for the class and some are not even on the bikes during the lesson.
3. The music is so loud one can not hear the instructors.
4. The customer service manager seems to be invisible because I have only seen her once in the office.
5. Some classes are so crowded that the participants spill out into the reception area on the first floor blocking the area. They are not even able to see what the instructor’s doing.
6. The monthly schedule is not uploaded on the web page.

This gym is overcrowded, not because it’s a popular gym, but simply because there’s no competition. The standard of this gym in Saudi Arabia is low. I wish I’d never signed back on to this gym.
I’ve also read many of the customer comments which paint a bleak picture about this gym’s reputation.

Reply

Priscilla Adjei December 9, 2014 at 9:43 am

I used to enjoy coming to the Bowie, MD location until last night. I asked a rep, Gayle, for the paperwork to freeze my membership. With an attitude, she responded that she would when I paid the money. When I signed up I was told I could freeze it without a fee. I told her this and once again I got a nasty attitude. I said I only want to freeze it for two months. Her response was once again sarcastic and she said I can take it up with the general manager and gave me her card. I said… When will this person be in again? Gayle said… THIS PERSON, TARA, has a name. So you need to use it. I was shocked and appalled at her unprofessional behavior! She got in my face and raised her voice which made me angry and I lost my cool and got loud too. I told her she will not be disrespectful to me and I’m not talking to her anymore. I asked another young lady for the paperwork to cancel. Gayle comes back and says…oh now you want to cancel? As if it’s any of her business!!!! I told her again not to speak to me. The other young lady told me I was in a contract yet I never signed for one. I’m month to month. I tried to explain this to her when Gayle once again intruded in our conversation and turned the computer to me and said,….you are gonna pay those two months whether you like it or not because it says you are in a contract!!! I got so angry that I was physically shaking and yelled for her to get out of my dace and leave me alone. She continued to harass me and threatened to call the cops on me!!!! I will be reporting all of this to corporate because in my less than one year with this gym I have referred many people. But I will never do that again so long as this idiotic, disrespectful, woman is still employed at this facility! No employee should be allowed to speak to a paying customer in this manner!!! I am beyond upset and will not stop until something is done about this person!!!!

Reply

Julie December 1, 2014 at 9:33 pm

My brother joined Golds in Bellevue TN during a sign up special. He’s not in great health and wanted to work on it. He was treated so badly and left feeling like only already healthy people and those who they could milk for lots of services were interesting to the staff and not him. If you are interested in a gym that cares about actually helping and guiding you , do not go to Golds. Sad because not only did he lose his money but it also discouraged him from working on his health when that is what trainers are actually supposed to do.

Reply

Scott November 26, 2014 at 10:54 am

Golds Gym has made a critical mistake. They inherited a rusty weapon that’s going to back fire in their face I’m afraid…..

Golds Gym has taken over the RUSH Fitness Center in Hixson & Chattanooga, Tennessee. Golds Gym has inherited a very messed up gym. There are weight plates laying everywhere. No one puts away their weights, The equipment are all falling apart. The pads on the equipment are cracked and torn open due to not wiping their sweat from the pads, and the Sauna bath does not work half the time. When it does work, it’s way below sweating temperature.
The management there is poor. It freezes during the winter time inside causes mussels to tear consistently all over the body. The music is either aerobics sound, or soft slow ballads. Boring music is a tough thing to work out in. Especially under a very heavy bar. I like most people love hard rock, but I’m willing to listen to RAP in order to make my point here. If you look into the gym, everybody is wearing head sets. No body wants to here the music the gym has to offer.

I work in retail, and it is ALWAYS good practice to understand that the customer is ALWAYS right. This should be a religion in Golds Gym, but right now it’s not in Tennessee.

It’s disgusting to see some senior citizen having to pick up or remove heavy plates from the equipment that another has left on. It’s especially disgusting to see a handicap having to remove these 45 lbs plates from the equipment. I have seen this not once, but repeatedly. Not to mention the smaller weaker women.

When management is sloppy, the atmosphere is very uncomfortable.

My question to you is: What are you going to do about it.

NOTHING like RUSH did?

Scott

Reply

Cicely De La Torre November 25, 2014 at 3:57 pm

I live in Pocatello Idaho and the golds gym here is terrible. They never do what they say they are going to do. I have been hung up on multiple times. They have withdrew money when they are not suppoosed to. Worst service I have ever had at a gym. I highly recommend NEVER go to golds! Im to the point to just pay my cancellation fee then keep my membership. I’ve never have been treated so terribly by a company! Especially whenI pay 38$ a month for my membership!

Reply

Joanne Sommaruga November 22, 2014 at 12:04 pm

I have been a member of Golds Gym in Smithtown, NY for almost 10 years. I love the group fitness classes. The instructors are wonderful. Unfortunately this is the only positive thing I have to say right now.
I sustained an injury that is aggravated by the Zumba classes I enjoy so much. I ended up picking up a membership at NYSC to have access to a pool and Aqua Zumba classes. My contract was up at Gold’s but I decided to continue on a month to month basis to have access to the classes that I still can take and enjoy. The problem is that Golds is double billing me both for month to month and for my expired contracted membership. Should be easy enough to rectify this but a manager has to do it and there is not one to be found. Apparently they are generally available during the time that I work. I work full time in healthcare and cannot make calls from work. One person suggested I make arrangements to take off from work to come in and see a manager to fix this. Really, I should use vacation time to fix someone else’s mistake? No one knows when I can see or talk to a manager. Apparently their schedules are kept secret. After 3 days of calls with no answers my husband finally was able to get a call back from someone who gave him somewhat of an attitude initially. Supposedly the problem will be fixed next week but I will believe it when I see it.
Mistakes happen. I don’t appreciate being given the run around. If you don’t like dealing with unsatisfied customers occasionally then don’t work with people. This is way too much work for a 29 dollar charge. I do want to avoid additional charges however and I don’t like paying anything for poor customer service. All I needed was an appointment with a manager where this all could have been taken care of.

Reply

Sarah Siler November 14, 2014 at 8:52 pm

On 3-31-2014, I joined Gold’s Gym.in Dundalk , Md.. My monthly payments were $29.99 a month with a contract for a year.in the middle of July 2014,I had a problem with my check card, I had to have it replaced. I forgot to call Gold’s Gym to give them my new card #. Around, Aug.11,2014 I received a letter from ABC Financial Services,, telling me that my payment was past due; payment is due on the first of every month. It was almost 2 weeks late. The letter was nasty ,threatening me with a judgement. I quickly called ABC FInancial, and gave my new credit card number. Next day I received another letter. This time there was a past due payment,late charges,service charges amounting to 48.49, The letter stated that my next payment of $39.99 would be due on 8-15-2014. I called them back and asked , What are all these charges? I was told that the charge of $48.49. was because I was late on my payment. I told them that I was’nt even 2 weeks late , and your going to charge me all this money? I told this woman I don’t have a monthly payment of $39.99,she said ,you better look @ your contract. I hung up the phone, looked @ my contract, I did not see anything about dues. I called ABC back and told them what my contract said.. They said I would have to talk to Golds Gym about it. I talked to the Office manager and told her I did not know anything about paying dues.There is nothing on my contract that states that I would have to pay yearly dues . She said “You don’t have the right papers.” My problem with Golds Gym is this – when I signed up for a membership with Golds Gym I was not told about any yearly dues , had I known I would have cancelled right away.They did not give me a copy stating this fact. My initials and signature are not on my contract . Golds Gym should have given me atrue Copy of the contract.. This is FRAUD , I intend to press charges against Golds so called Gym .Sarah Siler

Reply

Christian November 11, 2014 at 8:23 pm

Hello my name is Christian , been a golds member for 5-10 years . Love golds first off . Hit quite a few golds in the St.Louis MO area . My hometown golds is the one in florissant Mo , & have to say it’s a dump compared to the other golds I hit in the st.louis area . Always last to get new equipment, attachments are unsafe & never enough . Equiment is always broke / padding ripped , barbells & bumbells are loose & unsafe !! I can take pics for YA is nessary. Not trying to hate on gym . But all other golds Are up to par . Florissant need to get it together !!! Just wanted to bring it to your attention
Can you help lol

Reply

Judy Isaacson November 9, 2014 at 6:53 pm

I have a medical problem and the doctor wrote a note to suspend my membership for Sept. and Oct. I was told I had to call and when I did I was told that I would have to cancel my membership and adhere to the 31 day cancellation policy and then I could join again but would have to pay the joining fee.
I have never known a business that wouldn’t let you put your membership on hold or pay the joining fee again due to medical issues. I didn’t know 31 days in advance that I wasn’t going to be injured and couldn’t use the gym.
Please let me know if that policy is correct or if there is something else that can be done so I don’t have to pay when I can’t use the facilities.

Reply

Sgt. J Hobbs November 8, 2014 at 6:07 pm

Been going to Gold’s gym for 2 years had a personal trainer Mike and recently decided on doing so again. I was introduced to a new trainer Ricardo at the bobby Jones location who upon appearance seemed professional. Upon starting our initial introductory session i could smell marijuana on him and he was constantly on what seemed like personal calls. We finished out session with a degree of tension and I guess he noticed my demeanor and tried to offer 2 more free sessions. When I declined he then preceded to tell me about a special he had for $20 a session personal training he does during his lunch hour or days off at this point I was outraged. 1 being that I paid a tremendous amount of money for this service before and 2 because of the lack of loyalty by your employee. I highly suggest that you raise your standards when it comes to hiring trainers because this guy obviously isn’t what I would call a model employee. I am no longer considering a personal trainer and I am reconsidering my renewal as a member as well. I have tried to call the corporate number to no avail during business hours which is also unprofessional on itself. I hope that you take your members more seriously than your employees do.

Reply

Chester Johnson November 6, 2014 at 12:11 pm

The Pittsburgh Pennsylvania is ruining the Gold’s Gym brand. During the past four months I’ve been attempting to get employed there as a personal trainer. My first interview was with Scott, he’s the director, I believed the interview went really well; however, I did not get the job. A couple months later I reapply for the position and Scott interviews me again, informs me that he will be in touch with me in couple days. Two WEEKS later he tells me that Gold’s Gym is on a “hiring freeze” and I cannot be hired at this time.

I find that hilarious because the next day, Gold’s Gym Pittsburgh posts an ad on Craigslist for a training director. Teusday November 4th Scott called me to once again be interviewed for a Personal Trainer position, this is the third time. This time I interviewed with a training director named Tom. He said he was interviewing people all day and if the company was interested I could expect a call by the end of the day, I did not get a call.

I am not so spoiled as to expect to be hired just because I am dual certified by NASM or NPTI, or because I have ten years total experience. What upsets me is that after the first or second interview Scott knew he did not want to hire me for whatever reason, there was no need to make a fool out of me for a third time. I’ve Loved Gold’s ever since I was in high school and worked out at the Paramus NJ location, but Scott has made it impossible to want to work there in any position.

Reply

Mari Licon November 1, 2014 at 10:28 am

My husband and I have been members of the Hill Country Gold’s Gym for several years. I utilize the gym at least 5 days a week religiously and sometimes more often. When it came time to renew my membership this October I was extremely surprised at the increase in membership fees compared to just last year. With my PLATINUM membership we were paying approximately $27/month/membership. Since my husband doesn’t use the gym I inquired about what it would be for an individual membership. It was outrageous! Almost double the amount and that was for me to go to a Ruby level! When the manager called me to finalize which level I was going to pay for we reviewed the cost and she very nicely told me that rates had changed and that she understood. I proceeded to tell her that although apparently those were the rates for my fellow gym friends it would be nice to see that the gym & bathrooms were kept up. There is mold on the celling, chipped paint, faucets sometimes don’t work right; supplies aren’t always refilled, celling tiles are stained from roof leaks, poor air-conditioning in some areas. They have literally eliminated most of the early morning classes (hello, some of us have to work!) and the classes they do have are outrageously expensive. Yes you hire a Food Network star to be your spokesperson but you can’t put the money in the upkeep of your gyms. If it weren’t because the gym is so convenient to the expressway I certainly would look elsewhere. Funny how the Evans Road and Rogers Ranch facilities don’t have the same problems! When the person that is some big wig with the company came to talk to the gym members when the facility was Spectrum he raved about your gyms and how you can go to any Gold’s gym in the country without any problems. He didn’t explain that you can go only for two weeks at a time and only a certain amount of times each year. Again some of us travel in our work and it is sometimes more that two weeks at a time. Same problem: a lot of lip service just to appease the masses!

Reply

gail October 30, 2014 at 8:12 am

I belong to the Gold’s gym on Babcock in San Antonio Tx. I go take 3 classes a week and the studio has no air conditioning. Its has been this way since July possibly August. We had a fan that helped but it was stolen and never replaced. Texas is hot and its impossible to work out with out a/c and nothing is being done about a/c or buying a few fans to stir the air. You get our money now fix something. We just get excuses. My membership is up in December and unless something is done I will be moving to another gym and taking as many others members with me. By the way it took 6 months to replace a hair dryer. Where is the manager? Where is the concern for your clients?

Reply

Scott Simpson October 29, 2014 at 12:11 pm

Golds Gym has taken over the RUSH Fitness Center in Hixson & Chattanooga, Tennessee. Golds Gym has inherited a very messed up gym. There are weight plates laying everywhere. No one puts away their weights, The equipment are all falling apart. The pads on the equipment are cracked and torn open due to not wiping their sweat from the pads, and the Sauna bath does not work half the time. When it does work, it’s way below sweating temperature.
The management there is poor. It freezes during the winter time inside causes mussels to tear consistently all over the body. The music is either aerobics sound, or soft slow ballads. Boring music is a tough thing to work out in. Especially under a very heavy bar. I like most people love hard rock, but I’m willing to listen to RAP in order to make my point here. If you look into the gym, everybody is wearing head sets. No body wants to here the music the gym has to offer.

I work in retail, and it is ALWAYS good practice to understand that the customer is ALWAYS right. This should be a religion in Golds Gym, but right now it’s not in Tennessee.

It’s disgusting to see some senior citizen having to pick up or remove heavy plates from the equipment that another has left on. It’s especially disgusting to see a handicap having to remove these 45 lbs plates from the equipment. I have seen this not once, but repeatedly. Not to mention the smaller weaker women.

When management is sloppy, the atmosphere is very uncomfortable.

My question to you is: What are you going to do about it.

NOTHING like RUSH did?

Scott

Reply

Jumaili mothana October 23, 2014 at 11:04 pm

On October 23, 2014 approximately around 5:30 PM I walked in to golds gym located at 35 S Stephanie St
Henderson, NV 89012
to get free pass before getting a membership, I was directed to fill out all the paperwork I had completed and return it to the front desk representative, then I was call in to meet with Josh the fitness consultant and we talked about the possibility and my fitness goals and the prices and types of memberships, I asked Josh due to my tight schedule if it’s possibly I could get a pass for at least one day to check out the atmosphere for the gym he immediately the client and he said he can’t do it he has to ask his manager, and Josh left to ask his manager three minutes later he comes back and he informed me that he will not give me pass because I’m not local as my ID from California by the fact I lived here for four months, I respectfully thanked him and I said if it’s possible I could get my application and my information back then Josh the fitness consultant asked me to wait for a second he will try again with his manager he could allow me to have a pass
3 to 5 minutes later Josh and the manager came back the manager was extremely confrontational and rude also he was constantly flexing his muscles despite the fact I’m way bigger than him and,
The way he looked at me and the way he spoke to me was unbelievable especially for level of management, and all the way to the and he rejected any pass for me and I said okay no problem I just need my information
And I told him I’m a part owner of energy company and I gave Josh my business card after he sought my business card he realizes he was talking to the wrong person in the wrong way and he agreed to give me four day pass

So my main problem with this location is
A the management skill is completely unacceptable and he is incompetent,

B Management should calm things down one not escalate them which this manager it exactly that

C when management having a conversation with client our member don’t approach the client as you want to fight with them and you give them a dirty look and flexing your muscle as you speak to them which I strongly recommend to review the camera or the videos if you have any

D I believe Josh The fitness representative was understanding and was respectful he just couldn’t make an exception due to the restriction he was on I completely understand

E if this situation happen under circumstances this manager could end up with that huge fight inside the gym as he disrespect people who are bigger than him in size and knowledge

F The location looked okay it was very likable but I just feel management intimidated by Jim members is not acceptable and it should not be an issue as that could escalate to a bigger problem

G I respectfully declined the past and I will not go to any goals gym instead I will keep my 24 hour fitness membership

H managements and gym representative should make people feel comfortable to be there not otherwise

I can be reached by phone or email

turnkey innovative solutions
925724****

Reply

Leave a Comment

Want to make sure Gold's Gym sees your comment or complaint?

Share your experience to get more attention:

Previous post:

Next post: