Avis Rent a Car Corporate Office - Corporate Office HQ

Avis Rent a Car Corporate Office

How would you rate your experience with Avis Rent a Car ?

[Total: 29    Average: 1.8/5]

Avis Rent a Car Corporate Office Address

Avis Budget Group, Inc.
6 Sylvan Way
Parsippany, New Jersey 07054

Contact Avis Rent a Car

Phone Number: (973) 496-4700
Fax Number:
Website: https://www.avis.com/en/home
Email: Email Avis Rent a Car

Avis Rent a Car Facts

Founder: Warren Avis
Date Founded: 1948
Founding Location: Ypsilanti, Michigan
Number of Employees: 30000

Avis Rent a Car Executives

CEO: Larry D. De Shon
CFO: David B. Wyshner
COO: Ronald L. Nelson

Avis Rent a Car History

Avis Rent a Car Logo

Avis Rent a Car was founded in Ypsilanti, Michigan, in 1948 by Warren Avis. Originally, Mr. Avis had only 3 cars and operated out of the Willow Run Airport.

Today, Avis is one of the largest car rental companies in the US and the largest for business travelers. Avis was the first car rental company to be located at an airport. The company is a subsidiary of the Avis Budget Group, which includes Budget Rent a Car and Budget Truck Rentals. In early 2013, the company acquired Zipcar for $491 million.

Avis Rent a Car Airport Location

Avis stock is down 25% in the first half of 2018 due to competition from ride-sharing companies like Lyft and personal driving services like Uber. The CEO insists that car rentals are still popular, despite falling sales and stocks.

Headquarters are located in Parsippany, New Jersey. The company currently has more than 5,550 locations around the world, employs approximately 30,000 people, and has more than 373,000 cars worldwide. In 2015, the parent company had annual revenue of $8.5 billion.

Avis Rent a Car Logo 2

Avis Rent a Car FAQs

Question 1: What is the phone number for Avis Rent a Car?
Answer 1: The phone number for Avis Rent a Car is (973) 496-4700.

Question 2: Who is the CEO of Avis Rent a Car?
Answer 2: The CEO of Avis Rent a Car is Larry D. De Shon.

Question 3: Who founded Avis Rent a Car?
Answer 3: Avis Rent a Car was founded by Warren Avis in 1948.

{ 20 comments… read them below or add one }

George Rivera September 25, 2019 at 10:36 am

I’ve been a loyal AVIS customer for years for business and personal use. However, I’ve always expected a much higher level of service, customer service and protocols, but frankly, I very disappointed on how irresponsible AVIS has become. This occurred at the AVIS – Bradley International Airport in Hartford/Springfield. I’ve done this hundreds of times. I returned the rental as follows: I pulled into the lined return area, auto returned with a full tank, AVIS rep unloaded by suitcase from the trunk, verified the car’s dashboard, I handed him the key, received exit receipt and he directed me to the courtesy shuttle to the airport….

I received a very offensive and unprofessional call nearly 24 hours after the vehicle was returned from the male manager, demanding immediate payment; he told me I kept the key. NOT TRUE. If the representative didn’t return the key or lost the key; this is NOT MY FAULT. Evidently, your return policy protocols are broken down. Subsequently, my VISA was charged $318.93 for a lost key; I disputed it VISA did not pay. Now, I’m being harassed and bombarded with multiple calls and correspondence for unethical actions caused the AVIS airport location.

I will fight this to the end and may have to resort to legal action to bring this to a close. SHOULD AVIS CUSTOMERS HAVE TO DEAL WITH THESE INEPT INCOMPETENCE? THE ANSWER IS NO! AVIS MUST TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THEIR MISTAKES.

Reply

James Cayton Associates, Inc September 16, 2019 at 7:23 am

In January of 2018 my plumbing company repaired frozen and busted pipes at the New Bern NC car wash. we have sent bills, made phone calls and I even went personally to the desk at the airport. they currently owe us $1248.25. pretty bad for a company that boasts 8.5 billion dollars in annual revenue.

James L Cayton, Jr.
President
James L Cayton Associates, Inc

Reply

lynn July 31, 2019 at 11:50 am

i rented a vehicle from avis on line. $45 per day for a wake/funeral
enroute to wake, passenger window didnt go down..called and was hung up
on twice and when person in hanover mass finally answered he said to go to any location and get another car (told him on way to wake!)
next day window went down and wouldnt go back up. called avis headquarters and was left on hold forever, then hung up on.
had to extend rental and was not told cost. rep charged $30+more and
gave detailed receipt AFTER overcharging me.
received credit card bill and hanover mass location added an additional $75
on top of the exorbinant charge.
customer service is horrible, choose walking versus this rental agency, they are
horribly dishonest in hanover mass location and the customer service rep’s leave me on hold and hang up.

Reply

Michael Stitely July 8, 2019 at 1:19 pm

I reserved a rental vehicle a week prior to our trip for pick up July 5, 2019 @ 8:00 am and return July 7, 2019 @ 2:00 pm . On July 5 th we picked up the vehicle told the guy at the service desk of the damages who proceeded to tell me that he’s been doing this for 15 years and knows what he is doing having no interest in noting my issues. So we noted the issues our self, the vehicle was filthy inside and out having looked like a family with kids took it to the beach having soda exploded on the liner, sand and hair on seats, dash and in the trunk. We were on a time schedule so had to take this messy vehicle. Well on the way home July 7, 2019 we get a phone call from rental place asking us if we could bring the car back early because they have no vehicles for someone to rent like that is my issue we scheduled our times due to our needs. I am not happy with this whole rental from beginning to end.
386 334-XXXX

Reply

Katrina Cullom July 8, 2019 at 9:38 am

I reserved a car (which was fairly an emergency) online on Saturday, July 6, 2019 before 8 a.m. I had a reservation number for the closest Avis Car Rental where I was located. I phoned the Rental Company when it opened inquiring about directions to ensure getting there properly. I was told by a young sounding man (would not give his name) that there were no cars and that he had no clue why I reserved the car online and that reserving a car does not guarantee me a car (but they sure took my money during the online reservation).
I then phoned the customer service number and was tranferred four times! At the fourth transfer, I was told by a lady (another who did not reveal her name), that the reservation had been transferred to the Airport and that I was to go there and get a vehicle with no extra fees or mishaps.
I immediately drove (40 minutes) out of my way to the PIE airport in Clearwater to be greeted by Louis. Louis was so helpful, but at the same time, didn’t assist me in getting a vehicle due to “his inabilty to give me a car that was not secured by a credit card”. Louis did phone someone and complained that where I had reserved the car was showing 16 available cars… I overheard Louis tell the person he was sending me back to the office I reserved the vehicle at for me to get a vehicle. Louis then gave me his number and asked that I phone him if I had any issues.
Upon driving another 20 minutes or more to the Avis I was orignially thought to be renting a vehicle from, I arrived and went in. The gentlemen would tell me his name (he was dark complected with tattoos on the forearm of the left arm) and he wasn’t helpful, nice, or apologetic. He warned me to fill up the gas tank and then demanded a $150 deposit (I have never paid a deposit) — My card is on file, why would a deposit be taken??? This man would not go outside with me to view the car.
I took photos of all the damage (and there is plenty). The gas pedal was sticking, the car was dirty, stunk and I”m pretty sure it had bugs (as I have bites all over my legs).
The car had no gas cap, scratches, stains, and much more wrong!
Not only do I expect a refund of the deposit and more, I hope that someone within this corporation would do some inspecting of their agents and processes they are using in their locations.
I will never recommend Avis!

Reply

Quonya Muhammad March 26, 2019 at 1:44 pm

I am so upset. I went online and reserved a car with Avis and even prepaid. I had job interviews with 2 different county schools since I am moving soon. I even prepaid for my vehicle. When I arrived that morning at the rental location I waited for them to open a few mins after the posted time of 8a.m., I told my driver thanks and went inside. There I was told that they had no rental cars. They said they didn’t get any in from the airport. Shocked I turned to the parking lot and saw several vehicles, so I asked if I could take one of those since I had no other recourse. I was told they were reserved for other customers. As if I wasn’t a customer. I pleaded with the front desk person because I had a 9a.m. appointment. Besides, apparently the reservations were for a later time and I was actually standing inside of the office building. Nope, they told me that I could go over to another location and make a reservation there. The guy said it was 15 miles away. I reminded the guy I had been dropped off and asked if someone could take me. No. In disbelief I had to find my own way if I wanted to rent a car. Upon calling customer service, I was told that there was nothing that could be done besides a refund. Which took a few days to be refunded to my credit card. It was the worst experience ever. No one in office nor online was accommodating. It cost me more to take a Lyft to the interview school and another Lyft to the airport to rent a car.

Reply

Dee Kessing January 22, 2019 at 12:46 pm

Reserved a compact car to be picked up 1/20/2019. When I got to the office I was told that they didn’t have any compact but they could put me in a midsize. I asked if the price would be the same as the compact and was told “NO”. It’s unacceptable for Avis not to honor my compact price since they couldn’t fulfill the confirmation I received.
I expect money refunded to me when I return this car and will be contacting the BBB.

Reply

Harry J Davis January 16, 2019 at 1:03 pm

We rented a 2018 Nissan , Frontier, pickup from one of your Avis location which is on 10th Street , Lancaster, Califorina not far from Ave K which is across from Lowes Store and when we went in to do the deal we had bad ordeal from your people who rents us the vehicle and from the start we asked for discounts for the vehicle and lately we find out that you do take AARP and also AAA Auto Club, so why are they not giving us our discounts for our rental , we have to take it back today and yes we also rented the vehicle under budget the last time and we still have not got a discount to this day, please let me know why we are not getting our discounts and yes these people who works for you at this Agent is not customer services to people who goes in there, so please give me a answer soon within the hour or so, we are taking the vehicle back today, please called me at 661.495.XXXX, Harry Davis

Reply

Linda Ridgley October 29, 2018 at 6:07 pm

Rented a SUV through Avis July 27,2018 for pick up in Honolulu, HI on Sept. 30, 2018. We went to Avis 3 agents at desk, gentlemen said I help you. Gave us the keys to vehicle a Ford Explorer told us to an aisle. We locate the vehicle, look in trunk and 3rd row seats were up. We had no ideal how to get the seats down to put our luggage in. We looked around and finally found a gentleman to help us. Then it gets worse we look over car for any marks and take pictures. On day four, we stop at McDonald’s for a break I look at the tires and to my astonishment the tires were bald, down to the cords showing. There were 3 of us ladies in our late 60’s put in danger for our lives. We drove up a mountain, drove shopping, touring and a doctor visit. I would love to send the president of this company a copy of the tires that were on this vehicle given to us ladies to drive. You wouldn’t believe it, everyone I show the pictures to can’t believe it. Neighbor where we stayed looked at the tires and said way to dangerous to drive. I called Avis they brought a jeep for replacement on Thursday at 1 pm. We were stuck at the rental till we could get another vehicle. We drove the first vehicle with bald tires 4 days, the fifth day replacement came. I would hope the agent at Honolulu is reprimanded or fired and feel we should get our money back. I have tried and tried and did not get anywhere with Avis. I bet I have made at east 7 or more calls. I would love to hear from the president of Avis. Especially to see the condition of the tires.

Reply

Arroyo June 27, 2018 at 3:38 pm

I rented a vehicle online and prepaid for it online I was supposed to have it for 3 days but 4hrs after picking it up my trip was canceled so I returned it. At that time I was told that I would only be charged for a day plus all the fees and taxes…But today they told me that I would not be receiving any refund since I prepaid for it according to their policy…

Reply

Brad S February 23, 2018 at 11:01 am

I left my cell phone in the passenger’s seat of a car my co-worker rented at the Salt Lake City International Airport on Feb 22, 2018 and discovered my negligence about 2 minutes after walking into the terminal (yes, I realize this was my fault). Upon running back to the desk to have them track the vehicle, I was told their was no phone in the passenger’s seat where I am 100% positive I left it (having sent an email & text just minutes before we arrived). They brought the car back for me to search it myself, and to no surprise it was no longer there. I even tried pinging it on another person’s iPhone using their Find My Phone app under my account and the phone had been shut off just minutes after it had a fully charged battery (again, so surprise). My phone was stolen by either the port of Avis or the company who handles the transport to the general parking lot; and thus far I am getting no cooperation trying to reach their management at this airport. I was also hung up on by the customer service rep I tried contacting, as I told her there’s no way for me to physically go down to the location today being over a thousand miles away back home in K.C. So this morning I pinged it again and – lo and behold – there was my phone in some dirty SLC trailer park last turned on at 9:31pm the previous night. Yes, I know where you live, thief, and am filing a police report following this complaint. Thanks for working so “diligently” to help your customer’s with issues of theft by your company employees, Avis… never again.

Reply

Garencha Beauvoir December 6, 2017 at 11:37 am

I came here looking for a contact number for Avis Corporate, because I’ve been dealing with nothing but incompetence from customer service and the branch manager where I had my negative experience… I don’t know how enthused I am after reading these comments from other people who have had an issue with Avis customer service. I noticed that most of these problems could have been avoided but what I noticed the most is that I don’t see any replies from corporate…. one can assume that corporate replied via email but based on the service I’ve been receiving from the last 8 to 10 Representatives…. I will not assume anything

Reply

Dan January 29, 2019 at 12:49 pm

I’ve been having the same problem. I can’t get a live person unless they are in a call center with accents so thick, I honestly could only understand a few words and they are restricted to what their “System” allows them to do.

The staff in Gaithersburg don’t answer their local phone number.

Reply

Jeremy Boldwyn November 20, 2017 at 2:01 pm

Rental Date-11/03/2017
Rental Number-U734622092
VCR# VCR0946222

I just received a letter stating that my card was charged for a $60 pop a lock service because you stranded me and my wife by your key FOB not working. We took the car from where it was parked in the rental car garage and drove it around the corner to the front lot. we then left to go up to our room to get ready for our dinner reservations with clients. we come out to get into the rental and your FOB you gave us to this car will not open the doors at all. We then have to walk the half mile back (dressed in dinner attire) to your counter to find it closed at 3 pm. we then contact the customer service dept that is listed on the rental counter sign to ask them how do we get into your cars if your FOBS don’t work. We got a hold of a lady that told us to walk back to the car and take the door handle back piece off and you will find a manual key hole and can open it manually with a key. She then proceeded to tell us how to take the key FOB apart and their will be a small key that will open the door in there. we did as she instructed while still on the phone with her. we got the little key out and stuck it in the hole, however we found the key had never been cut from the dealership factory or whatever and was a blank, but it would not open the door. She said she is so sorry for all this trouble and that she was going to have to call pop a lock to get into that car so that we can place the FOB on the charging station located inside the center console of the car so it will work again. she told us that we will not be charged for this because it is AVIS’s fault completely. We missed our dinner reservations and ended up sitting outside in the cold for 2 hours waiting for pop a lock to get there and be done. by the time we finally were able to drive the car again it was nearing 11 pm at night. I want this charge off my card………….It’s bad enough that every car there was completely the filthiest things ever seen at a rental lot. after renting the car that afternoon, we took the long walk to get to the cars in the garage and that alone was a crazy long little walk to get up there, then once we got up to the 2nd floor of the garage we found they had given us the wrong keys for the wrong car and had to make the long walk back to the counter yet again to get the right keys to the right car. We told them then that all the cars are filthy dirty and showed them the pictures we took of them all, they advised us that they had all just came from California and they just have not cleaned them yet, sorry about that and that was the end of that discussion . This is the first time I have ever rented from Avis at all and this was for business because we travel to meet clients everywhere. We were in Vegas for the SEMA convention. However it will definitely be our last time trying AVIS. This is definitely the worse rental car experience I have ever had. I have always used Enterprise and I guess I should have never given AVIS a chance to earn my business.

Manager,
Jeremy Boldwyn

Reply

Jim Austin October 14, 2017 at 3:33 pm

Have a reservation at Avis in Lake Tahoe, I’ve been standing in front of the service counter for over a half hour and haven’t seen a person even working the desk. They have a will return at 12:00 sign out and it’s 12:30 I’ve been standing here since 11:45. I’m now late checking out of my hotel room. This is terrible customer service. I don’t recommend using Avis in Lake Tahoe to anyone. Not to mention my company have a corporate account with these people. Unbelievable, now I’m finding out that the individual who man’s this desk is at the Reno airport which is an hour’s drive from here. I guess my plans of being somewhere at a specific time won’t happen. Thanks Avis for putting me in an awkward position.

Reply

Jerry Ray September 22, 2017 at 4:15 pm

The number I called and talked to Diego was 1-800-633-3469 NOT 1-800-230-4898.as I stated above in my previous email.

Reply

Jerry Ray September 22, 2017 at 3:42 pm

This afternoon I tried to change my password for my account 4 times. AND NEVER GOT IT RESOLVED. The final person I reached was named Diego at the Customer Service number 1-800-230-4898. The man should be fired! He was the rudest person in a customer service position Ive ever spoken with. He made smart remarks all through the conversation. He put me on hold twice for no reason and hung up on me eventually. He was uncooperative. If I were AVIS I would be embarrassed to have him on my staff. He is certainly not a Customer service type individual. I have used Avis a long time and my company recommends them. I will be forwarding this information to my Company “Lincoln Financial Group” and hope they will discontinue use of Avis with such rude people working in the environment. Ive never been treated so badly by any company even though I’ve talked to many rude people this person, Diego was annoying and disgustingly offensive. I will never use Avis again. .

Reply

Stephen Joseph September 16, 2017 at 2:57 pm

I went to rent a car at the Avis lax location and witnessed the worst customer service experience for customers. I saw desk employees show no concern for a line of nearly 50 people waiting in line. I saw at the most 6 staff working. I personally waiting more than 30 minutes and I was still only halfway to the counter. I saw every customer transaction took on average 15 minutes per guest. The staff was more concerned with taking a break instead of at least getting some help. I have personally never had this kind of experience with Avis and that’s why I patronize the company. But after this I will find another company. Despite it being a busy weekend, a company is supposed to plan for a busy days and staff accordingly.I know this because I work in hospitality. As a representative of a well known hotelier company, I know what rental car agency to have guest stay clear of.

Reply

Wu September 7, 2017 at 1:31 pm

We rented a diesel driven car at Oslo airport, Oslo, Norway on August 20, 2017. This was our first time to drive a diesel engine car and had no knowledge of the requirements on a diesel engine car – a fluid called AdBlue is required to drive the car other than diesel! The service people when delivered the car to us first failed to fill up the AdBlue tank, and also failed to mention that the fluid is necessary for the car to start and drive on road! When we were in the middle of mountains, the AdBlue tank went empty and would not start. The fuel tank was almost full at the moment, so we could not figure out what caused the car not starting. A passing-by motorist kindly helped to translate the manual and helped to locate the AdBlue tank. We called the rental office asking for help since the nearest gas station is 30 kilometers away. We were told they could not help and we had to find a way to buy it ourselves!!! What a customer Service!!!
A kind driver passing by offered help. He drove 30 kilometers to the nearest gas station, bought the fluid, and drove back to us. In order to thank him for his kind help, we not only reimbursed him for the fluid cost, we also gave him some compensation for the time and the gas. If Budget rental had helped us, this cost would not have been occurred!
When we returned the car, the rental office manager only agreed to compensate for the fluid cost and refused to compensate for the money we paid the person who drove 60 kilometers and bought the fluid for us. This ordeal cost us not only money, but our precious time while travelling in Norway and affected our entire trip plans after that.
The office manager is Daniele D’Abramo.
We strongly request to be reimbursed for the cost we paid and be compensated for the time we lost all because the rental rep did not do their job correctly!!!

Reply

Antonio carter July 11, 2017 at 6:31 pm

To whom it may concerns I’ve been a coustumer at avis and buget for years and i am very unhappy with the service that your Jacksonville fla airport is providing every time i rent a car from there the price never be wat they quote you it’s always more which make it very inconvenience for me and my family avis and budget is the place i rent from and will like to continue doing business with the company but can not and will not keep going thru this matter.

Reply

Leave a Comment

Want to make sure Avis Rent a Car sees your comment or complaint?

Share your experience to get more attention.

Previous post:

Next post: